It is the annual day of honor for one of the civil rights movement’s most ardent voices, Dr. Martin Luther King.  It hardly seems fitting to attribute just one day to a man of such immense character and conviction who had the audacity to suggest that all people regardless of race, creed or gender are born into this world of equal worth.  I recollect a 5th grade class for which I’d been subteaching once many years ago and the material left for me by the regular teacher included a reference to MLK.  I’ll never forget the blank stares on the faces of predominately minority children when I asked, “You all know who Martin Luther King was, right?”  It was a poignant moment of truth as not a single child raised their hand to acknowledge my question, much less offer a response.  Perhaps they just weren’t warming up to me as is often the case when a sub takes over the room, the equivalent of a “free period” in most pupils’ minds.  However, it left an indelible impression on the state of public education, particularly in our urban districts.

I just got back from the gym and am enjoying the residual effects of a good workout mentally and physically.  My shoulder, while still offering some resistance, sustained the bench press better than it had in weeks past.  The reduced frequency in trips to the gym has afforded some improvement and now I have an opportunity to continue a rehabilitative approach to my fitness.  I’ve managed to put back on a few of the pounds I’d worked hard to shed over last summer into autumn.  Taking care of my body temple has always been among my highest values and whenever I have challenges in this area of my life it is something I do not ignore.

Yesterday I had the pleasure of participating in a talking circle hosted at my good friend Laura Jean’s cozy place on the west side.  A total of 8 souls gathered to share some of their challenges and perspectives in a safe and accepting environment.  It was in stark contrast to the venue I appeared at following the circle where about a dozen souls were lounging around watching football consuming alcoholic beverages in a dark heated garage converted into a “man cave.”  Initially, I had experienced some dissonance noticing feelings of being disconnected and alone.  At the talking circle one of my comments was the paradox of how we’re all alone together.  It took a little while to adjust as I embraced my surroundings I was able to participate in some of the adolescent humor.  I have a tendency to take myself a little too seriously.  On this path I claim to believe it is all God and thus it is no more spiritual to participate in a group drinking herbal tea talking about their feelings than it is a group drinking booze while hazing one another.  The practice always comes back to where you’re at with yourself.  As I embrace and bring love to all parts of me I’m able to love others in kind.

For the remainder of the day I have on tap some reading, a phone call to my cousin who has been divorced twice and has experience self-filing no-contest, followed by a gathering in common wealth with some dear friends as we’ve been doing on the 1st and 3rd Monday of the month for well over a year now.  I just recalled a most lucid dream I had in the early morning hours where I had gone in to my ex-employer and when I saw my supervisor I explained that I’d forgotten I was fired, so I proceeded to give him a hug.  It was a pleasant etheric encounter demonstrating where I’m at with the incident less than 2 weeks hence.  Any ill will or resentment I’ve harbored has dissipated allowing me to move forward into the next great adventure in this journey of life.  Nya’weh!

In common wealth,

SjK

“The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.” – Martin Luther King, Jr.

