It is a bright clear and crisp morning, much how I feel to begin the day following a sound night’s sleep.  I have some multi-grain flapjacks on the skillet and am charting out my day with my partner Steve on his way into town for several appointments that we pray will result in writing some new business.  Last night’s special event with Ambit co-founders Chris Chambless and Jere Thompson was invigorating and uplifting to say the least.  I had heard the CEO’s impressive story once before last summer in Rochester, his grandfather founded 7 11, the world’s largest franchise operation, starting out as an icehouse in Texas.  It was a powerful reminder of being in the right place at the right time and taking action.  He asked the audience of 1200+ if they believed luck was part of success, and only a few raised their hand.  Then he asked if hard work was related to success to which there was a larger response, followed by asking if hard work creates luck, and further approval before finally proposing the question, “How important is timing?” The audience was unanimous in agreement and his point was made as energy deregulation is still in the infantile stages, and holds the potential for the largest transfer of wealth in history.

The Chief Marketing Officer, Mr. Chambless, had a more metaphysical message to share with the group touching upon New Year’s resolutions and how the odds are overwhelmingly against their success, statistically just 8% of people manage to follow through.  He read from a top 10 list of common resolutions from losing weight to more time with family to quitting a bad habit to taking a vacation.  It is his position that most people have the necessary desire to change their lives, yet too few have a plan.  I would tend to agree.  One of the traps with goal-setting is setting these too high and ensuring almost certain failure.  If you need to lose 50 pounds trying to do that in a month is absurd, whereas perhaps 6 months would be doable.  The same goes in a business venture, while we’d all love to make millions fast, he emphasized that Ambit is not a “get rich quick” scheme, although pointed out that many top earners have replaced their incomes in just 18 months.

And so here I am with as strong a desire as ever to change my life in really every area- physically, mentally, financially, vocationally, socially and within my family dynamic.  Crises are truly opportunities in disguise and while I’m adapting to these new set of circumstances in my life a major aim is to distill an effective plan.  I’ve made a committment to begin my day with writing, although I did already go to the grocery store and check emails.  I have a unique opportunity to re-invent myself and become greater.  I shared this concept with one of my partners, Karen, as we drove home from the hotel.  I explained to her that the main difference between so-called successful folks and those who are doomed to failure is that the successful ones didn’t let setbacks and adversity stop them from moving forward.  I also noted the utter importance of increasing one’s love of self and the rest will fall into place.

If you have the desire a plan will follow, and a plan can always be edited as you go along.  An effective plan requires clarity on your highest values to determine what are priorities and what are fleeting impulses.  If you desire financial freedom you can work 35-40 years at a job with shrewd investing, or you can pursue the entrepreneurial path affording a shorter route from A to B with proper execution.  If you desire a strong, nurturing and empowering relationship with others begin that process within yourself.  The question to answer is “Why?”  It is our “why” that drives us to action in life.

In common wealth,

SjK

“Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.” John Lennon

