Today is my wife’s 37th birthday and she is off to be with her family as I’m here typing another opus on a snowy January afternoon.  Last night turned out to be fruitful after returning from the beach I visited my buddy Gus who brought me up to date on the state of his business ventures, including litigation with an erstwhile investor, whom just so happens to be his uncle.  In a separate and somewhat related venture he shared with me his concept for digital signage as we discussed a collaboration wherein we’d refer one another potential clients given the overlapping target market in which we prospect.  It was another re-assuring sign from the Universe that all is in good order, including lunch with a friend of a friend yesterday who just so happens to be in the POS industry with potential for referral marketing as well.

I’m practicing in earnest paying attention to my thoughts, feelings, words and breathing, increasingly so of late.  There are certain words I am seeking to strike from my vocabulary, such as “can’t, don’t, shouldn’t and try.”  I’m consciously taking deeper breaths at more frequent intervals throughout my waking hours.  At the moment my heart feels light and I am grateful for the best night’s sleep I’ve had in several days.  Sometimes what we think we want turns out to be a false idol as we adopt the values of our parents, mentors, superiors and anyone else whom we put upon a pedestal from our vantage point.  It is too often an exercise with tragic outcomes as we each came here with a unique mission to accomplish.  While we may “follow in the footsteps” of those who’ve gone before us, simply doing so for the sake of approval or status or financial gain will only leave us going to the grave with regret.  I can hardly imagine a more peaceful transition to the next life than doing so with absolute undisputed integrity.

Earlier this morning I retrieved some boxes from the bookstore at my former employer thanks to good relations maintained with the warehouse supervisor.  Had I asked my direct supervisor for such a favor it likely would not have gone down so smoothly.  Also, I have a buyer for one of a few items I’m selling as part of the downsizing, in this instance a compact electric heater.  We set up a location to meet that is of a mutual distance from our homes and from there I’ll be heading to my folks’ house for dinner followed by a “cousins party” hosted in the same neighborhood.  Depending how the evening unfurls I may hook up with some friends in Allentown for cocktails.  I’m feeling a bit frisky of late and while I’m not about to go whore it up I’m open to exploring an intimate connection.  I’m free as a bird now.

In common wealth,

SjK

I’ll miss the playgrounds and the animals and digging up worms
I’ll miss the comfort of my mother and the weight of the world
I’ll miss my sister, miss my father, miss my dog and my home
Yeah, I’ll miss the boredom and the freedom and the time spent alone

