Today marks the annual day in recognition of romantic love and a commercial opportunity for retailers world-wide.  I’ve never been one to celebrate St. Valentine’s Day, whether I have a romantic partner in my life or not.  I’m not against the holiday, for me it’s just another day in this amazing journey of life.  By all means get your lover some flowers and chocolate, pay by credit card preferably at one of our accounts, and celebrate the love you have for yourself in the reflection of a partner.  Cupid is conspiring with his bow.

I’m off to Rochester today to invest some time with Steve at the state headquarters preparing for a presentation to the WNY Blues Society tomorrow.  I’m also looking forward to a drum jam session at BushMango followed by cocktails at Judy’s home this evening.  Before then I need to deposit a large check in the bank with proceeds from the sale of the diamond engagement ring.  I felt as though I got a fair price considering that the buyer needs to make his margin while marketing to the highest bidder in NYC.  I noticed a spike of anger arise, not so much for the disparity between the purchase price and selling price of the jewelry, but for the fact that I allowed myself to be manipulated into the purchase in the first place.  Truly foolish to seek love outside of ourselves, when in fact the greatest love of all is always that which we harbor within our hearts.  Once again my love of self is growing.

After selling the diamond ring I headed for downtown, not before stopping at Spot Coffee for a Scarlet Red tea and bumping into my buddy Christopher, who was coming out of a Bikram session.  We chatted for a few moments and I invited him to the sweat lodge on Saturday as space had opened up for the private invite-only ceremony.  He was delighted to accept the invitation as we bid adieu.  I arrived with a few minutes to spare for a Re-employment Services workshop at the Department of Labor.  They provided a brief orientation of available resources before meeting one on one with a Labor Services Rep, who shared additional details for job search assistance.  I’m grateful for any support as I undergo this self re-invention.

My buddy Mark came by last evening to help me install a railing on the stairwell to the master bedroom.  I had purchased the kit years ago and never bothered to do anything, in part for lack of know-how and also we’d been considering installing new carpeting in the room.  Mark showcased his ingenuity rigging it up despite dimensions not ideally suited for the installation.  It is now a safer set of circumstances and likely more attractive to a would-be homeowner, especially if they have children.  We enjoyed a couple beers and good conversation wrapping up the project around 9 pm.  I became irritable after his departure as my shoulder tinged with some pain while my wife watched me lug the vacuum cleaner up the spiral staircase to suck up debris.  My complaint was something to the tune of her being so self-absorbed and inconsiderate as she idly stood by.  I then looked at the reflection and realized that I tend to dismiss myself rather than honor my well-being.  It always comes back to you.

In common wealth,

SjK

In 1802 Thomas  Jefferson said: 
I believe that banking institutions are more dangerous to our liberties than standing armies. If the American people ever allow private banks to control the issue of their currency, first by inflation, then by deflation, the banks and corporations that will grow up around the banks will deprive the people of all property until their children wake-up homeless on the continent their fathers conquered..’
 

