Honestly not sure why I’m up with the chickens sorting, organizing and prioritizing following a fun-filled outing with cherubic friends on the annual eve of the Lenten season.  Many folks were dressed in full Mardi Gras regalia to celebrate on a damp, unseasonably mild evening in Allentown.  I guess my internal clock takes precedence over the need for additional sleep to shake the festive malaise and so here I am blogging at 6:30 AM on a rainy morning.  We kicked off the extravaganza with a bottle of champagne to toast Jen’s birthday at her west side residence and migrated from there to partake in premium tequila at Cantina Loco before meeting up with other members of the krewe at The College Street Gallery for a 4th annual Fat Tuesday Throwdown.  A $3 donation fetched us some locally brewed porter by Flying Bison and live acoustic music with about 30 folks crammed into the tiny gallery.  Jen and I ducked out briefly to an adjacent venue, Sample, where we conducted a follow-up champagne toast before calling it a night.  She was visibly delighted to have enjoyed herself in good company in commemoration of a milestone birthday.  I was delighted to have gained beads without having to flash my breasts to anyone.

Yesterday was a milestone for me as well having received my first processing statement for a prospective client.  Stan from the WNY Blues Society faxed over the 6 page document as Steve and I analyzed it to determine where we could save them money on payment acceptance.  We’re also making headway in preparing our landscape display for Plantasia as Nick and his father have constructed the stage and two-thirds of the greenhouse while I secured lawn furniture and a storage shed from a local supplier in East Aurora, Fox Lawn Furniture.  In my travels I dropped off some literature with Louann at Barbill, renowned for its chicken wings and beef on weck, before popping in at the All-American to check progress on the renovation.  The owner, Jay, was on site directing the crew as we chatted for a moment offering to produce a statement for us to analyze.  He anticipates opening March 15th, just in time for St. Patrick’s Day and I provided him a referral for a bartender with experience, who also works as a hair stylist.  It was a fruitful excursion on all fronts.

I’ve got a hankering for some eggs, home fries and toast as I feel Peg’s Place calling me in for sustenance.   My intentions were to get into the gym and we’ll have to see how I feel after getting some food in my belly.  I did return on Monday for a workout, primarily cardio with a set of push ups as I proceed cautiously with my injured shoulder.  It is showing improvement after another round of massage therapy and the key now is to continue being gentle as it heals.  I anticipate another busy and productive day ahead openly embracing the ever-unfolding mystery that is life.  Making a living and living a making.

In common wealth,

SjK

