It’s 10 pm and this is the first time I’ve attempted to post an entry in this Daily Log 2012 in many days.  I’m exhausted after 3 long days of hauling, fastening, planting, mulching and cleaning up to prepare for the landscape show.  I miss this blog just enough to remain awake and check in despite a yearning to get horizontal.  I haven’t been grocery shopping in days and the rations are getting thin.  I scheduled an appointment for an estimate early in the morning that I had to cancel this afternoon following a last-minute request for a realtor to show the house, which resulted in a suggestion to bleach the skylights.  I appreciate the advice; however, it’s the least of my concerns at the moment.  I was up at 5 am today and we’ll see how early I arise tomorrow.

We managed to land an award as Best Garden – Large Exhibit for Plantasia, with a panel of judges including Buffalo Spree, who also sponsored the Preview Night replete with food stations from various restaurants, prizes and cash bar.  To offset this triumph we discovered that our curbing guy failed to add concrete to the mix for about 2/3 of the decorative curb border resulting in what amounts to a castle in the sand.  There were several areas where folks bumped up against the poorly crafted material gouging out chunks of sand.  We have a solution in mind to put up stanchions before the show opens to the general public tomorrow morning at 10 am as there’s no way to fix it at this juncture.  I didn’t allow the debacle to keep me from speaking with prospective clients while throwing back a few cold ones.  There was immense interest in the “living wall”, an adapted pallet turned upright and mounted with plastic soda bottles functioning as micro-planters for vegetables.  The wishing well and greenhouse captured attention as did the rough-hewn arbor.  It was rewarding to bask in the spotlight.

In common wealth,

SjK

