It is a beautiful summer morning as the nasty humidity that had folks flocking to pools, beaches and air conditioning has been replaced by a drier air mass.  I’ve been displaced from the beach house by friends of the family who have been given the place for a week’s vacation, a most generous offer from my parents.  The result has me sleeping at the half-empty house that has now been on the market for over 6 months.  The feelings of abandonment and remorse linger, although these flow through with much greater ease as I embrace it.  I slept deeply in the bed once shared with my ex-wife in a room devoid of all her belongings.  While meditating yesterday I had the notion of retaining ownership and occupancy of the house; however, I’ve no idea how I could afford to do so on a modest and sporadic income stream.  Yet, if it is indeed an inspired notion the means will be made manifest.

I am enjoying the single life once again as an eligible bachelor, although I am cautiously optimistic as I re-enter the dating scene keeping the focus on my thoughts and feelings, rather than getting caught up in forms, as lovely as they may sometimes be.  There is nothing wrong with indulging in the pleasures of the flesh; however, at this stage of the journey as I approach my 40th lap around the sun I am feeling called to a “higher purpose” in life, and the world of form can be a distraction, if not a trap.  Just now as I’m sitting here in the cafe a gorgeous young brunette seated across the way is gaining my attention.  I acknowledge her physical beauty and go on about my business.  This is really an amazing planet we call Earth.

In common wealth,

SjK

“Nothing ever goes away until it teaches us what we need to know.” – Pema Chodron

