If not for having risen and gone back to bed I would have missed out on a most lucid dream taking me back in time to my college days at SUNY Environmental Science & Forestry, where I earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Environmental Studies Biological Science Applications, magna cum laude.  In the dream I bumped into a favorite professor, Dr. Leopold, under whom I surely would have continued my studies had I pursued graduate school.  So I hopped online logging on to the college website and was excited to discover The Green Campus Initiative.  It appears to be an evolutionary progression of an erstwhile Recycling Club of which I was an active member for several semesters, including a vermicomposting project that captured organic waste from the campus cafeteria.  I sent an email to the club President and Zero Waste Chair, the former of which has already responded with keen interest in the organic waste to energy venture in the works locally.  We “stumpies” stick together for life.

My other business concepts include a social networking site to serve as a hub for business leaders and inspirational speakers to keep in close virtual contact with their fans and clients.  The other is a smaller scale grassroots venture with a food truck featuring my friend Amy’s flatbread pizzas and her signature caramelized onion base.  We’d offer three scrumptious varieties and preliminary cashflow projections would yield $20 profit per pizza, not counting truck expenses; maintenance, fuel and insurance.  Of course, the idea is that we’d be using my personal pick-up truck and the trick would be finding a way to keep the slices warm, if not hot, when served on the lunch hour downtown.  It may take a larger capital investment in kitchen prep and transportation than anticipated, but my intuition says it would be a massive hit among the panoply of mobile fare.

There is no shortage of possibilities, and yet the reality of my financial situation keeps me riding the line.  It was discussed while camping the prospect of me moving into a spare bedroom at Matt & Amy’s abode sooner than later.  Not only would this lower my overhead, it would also place me nearer opportunities to generate an income with an urban residence.  Moreover, the arrangement would give us something of a “sneak preview” as it pertains to our vision for securing a parcel of woods, farm and water feature.  The interim living quarters would make for a cozy habitat through winter and come spring I’d likely be ready for more elbow room.  The hope is for investing momentum toward realization of a shared vision.

In common wealth,

SjK

 

