It is a Thursday night as the Indianapolis Colts are about to square off against the Jacksonville Jaguars on a chilly evening.  My body is weary after a day of gardening that included planting of several hundred bulbs- crocus, daffodils, tulips and Allium as Angela & I continued progress on the conversion of a weedy sloped front lawn into an artfully designed terraced landscape.  She talked about having it entered into the annual Garden Walk next summer.  I’m impressed by her knowledge of plants, something I spent a good deal of time in study during my college years and her meticulous attention to their needs.  She was adamant about me applying bone meal to the strata before tucking the bulbs in for their winter nap.  When I later teased her about applying it to the front bed she suggested we may have to wrestle.  There is a nice rapport between us after working together sporadically over the last few weeks and talk of growing the business next season.

When I arrived back at the beach I had about an hour of daylight remaining and took to cleaning up the front bed cutting back Shasta daisies, geraniums and fountain grasses before getting in the final mow of the season.  Fortunately, I was able to borrow the neighbor’s riding mower one last time, hosing it down and gassing it up before returning it in gratitude.  I managed to finish up with 2 minutes to spare before taking a scheduled phone call from a potential employer.  It was a follow-up from a conversation earlier in the day that had been truncated due to my gardening.  Over the course of 15 minutes I felt a growing enthusiasm for the opportunity and we left it at scheduling a face to face interview for next week.

My body is notably sore as it’s been nearly 2 weeks since I’ve performed this much labor, goes to show it does not take long for the body to wane.  I didn’t get to sleep until after midnight last night and had originally made plans to check out a friend’s performance in local theater this evening.  Fortunately for me that was postponed until tomorrow night due to Amy nursing a back spasm while Matt remains home to look after his beloved.  It is nice to be on the other side of the funk that set in several weeks ago.  It was so heavy it felt difficult to breathe at a couple of points, the depths of despair sufficient to crush an ordinary man.  I made it through another cycle and am stronger, lighter and more peaceful because of it.

In common wealth,

SjK

 

