I woke up today after a rough night’s sleep tossing and turning due to a muscle spasm in my left shoulder-blade, a sharp pain disturbing my precious slumber.  I rolled myself out of bed to taking a peak outside at the winter wonderland scene that had set up overnight.  After a hearty breakfast of buckwheat pancakes I suited up and ventured outside to dig out.  My morale was quickly deflated as I attempted to push the heavy wet snow aside realizing it was going to be anything but a breeze to clear the driveway.  Despite the aggravated muscle in my back I managed to scoop away nearly a foot in-depth and swept off my truck buried in white stuff.

After helping the neighbor clear the end of her driveway from a massive plow wake I sauntered down to the beach and was astounded by the transformation from just a couple of days ago when the sand was still visible.  The winds had shifted to the west moving the saiche back toward the northern end of the lake as the frozen tundra has encapsulated the shoreline.  I watched as waves pounded up against newly formed ice berms splashing and spraying up over the top, witnessing first hand how the lake slowly changes from liquid to a solid surface.  If the temperatures hold as forecast it won’t be long until she freezes over entirely.  It is quite a spectacle to behold.

I just got back from a trip to the grocery store stocking up on rations.  Before sitting down to compose this entry I took the advice of a massage therapist friend to release the tension in my back.  I placed a pair of lacrosse balls symmetrically on the hardwood floor and laid atop them, rolling side to side, then up and down, holding with my body weight pressed firmly to alleviate the strain.  I am enjoying moderate relief and will likely have another go at it before I lay down to sleep this evening.  Combined with minor cold symptoms my body is letting me know that it is out of balance and a need for taking better care of myself.  I’m going to put some water on for tea and continue reading You Can Farm by Joel Salatin.  I am several chapters into the large volume and eagerly soaking up its wisdom.

In common wealth,

SjK

Good enough is perfect. – Joel Salatin

