Yesterday was “one of those days” having set out with a very cavalier “to-do” list only to have it unravel at the very first item on the list.  I showed up promptly at the Honda dealer to have the factory recommended service performed on my truck that I’d been putting off for months (since it eclipsed the 90k mile mark); however, I was just as promptly shown the door when they denied me a loaner vehicle for not being able to produce a copy of my driver’s license.  I asked if I could substitute my passport and was denied again, so I bailed on the service not wanting to be without wheels for the entire day.  My next stop took me to a computer repair shop where Russ Sr. advised me of a mandatory fee just to diagnose the 8 year-old Toshiba laptop.  I agreed and efficiently continued following along my list to deliver the 401k check to my new IRA account, where the receptionist Colleen was unable to print a receipt.  We chatted for several minutes and finally she said she’d mail it to me rather than keep me waiting.  I then went around the corner to withdraw cash from an ATM, which was naturally “temporarily out of service.”

At this point I was in full surrender and headed over to The Barn to meet up with my favorite peeps.  I opted to cancel an afternoon appointment with my esthetician opening up the day to wherever the flow would lead me.  I enjoyed tea and lunch with my homeboys Matt, Shawn aka “5 bag” and Sifu.  We managed to be moderately productive cleaning out the chicken coop and laying down fresh straw as we simultaneously put together some fine meatballs as a side for dinner.  We also created a new group on the social network with an intention for “Building community through accountability.”  When Amy arrived home from work she was delighted by our expedience, including all dishes cleaned following a messy process.  Over the course of several hours we enjoyed conversation and much laughter before making my way home with a final stop for the day at the grocery market.  Even there I “got stuck” for a moment at the self-checkout unable to find the item code for the tangerines until I was divinely assisted by a pretty gal.  Finally, before retiring to sleep I sauntered on down to the beach basking in the moment as stars sparkled overhead amid a supremely clear sky and the lake shimmering in the glow of a waxing crescent moon.

And so this morning I have refreshed my “to-do” list as I attempt to move more items onto a “done” list.  Turns out not having my license may save me some money as 5 bag referred me to his mechanic who works out of a small garage minus the overhead of a dealership.  Nonetheless, I am reminded that doing can be depleting, if not manic, absent a defined purpose.  We really are only accountable to our purpose in life, and if we do not proactively choose one, we simply live into a purpose by default.  Even when we do define a purpose, or mission statement, it is easy to settle back into old routines and patterns, the majority of which could fall into the broad and general category of “Humania.”  I heard this term the other night during the Tolle group meeting where we watched about 45 minutes of Eckhart in dialogue with an author of several books on human behavior and evolution.  We have a world of folks so caught up in the doing without ever pausing to ask themselves “Why?”

For this Lenten season I have chosen to add something in, rather than abstain as is the custom in Catholic practice.  I have been meditating on nearly a daily basis for over a week now, and more recently, have been engaging in a specific form known as “Metta meditation.”  The objective here is to foster greater empathy and communion with others by visualizing some people whom occur to you as benefactor, neutral and adversarial, as well as yourself and extending to all beings, in repetition of the following phrases, “May I/ you be safe.  May I/you be happy. May I/you be healthy. May I/you be at ease in the world.”  There are studies to support that the release of oxytocin and routing of new neural pathways enhances “pro-social” behavior, particularly among so-called “strangers.”  This practice is now on my daily to-do list in support of my mission inspiring, empowering and educating.

In common wealth,

SjK

