Despite truncated and intermittent sleep I managed to arrive ahead of my new comrades, including the company president, at precisely 8:18 AM on February 18th, an ice-cold winter morning.  It was August 18th that I had left one job to begin my tenure as an “educational life coach” at an online college.  Seven years hence on the 18th of February I inked a lease deal for the Honda Ridgeline I still drive to this day.  It seemed to be a numerological sign from the Universe that everything is in perfect order.  While waiting for Bill and Jeff to join me in the cool, cinder block office I gazed to the window with morning sunlight streaming in taking pause to smile as I admired a tropical plant soaking up the rays.  Standing beside the little tub was a figurine of Yoda, and I could not help but to hear the Star Wars legend’s voice inside my head, “Embrace the light, you will.”

Bill quickly got me up and running in the candidate database and configured email servers as is standard operating procedure.  Before long it was noon and we were digging in to a team conference call per weekly format.  It provided an opportunity for brief and remote introductions to the consultants and managing partners who make things happen from coast to coast.  Bill reviewed the “hot spots” where clients are most eager to fill key positions, including the Bay area and Chicago markets where an emerging HR software solutions firm is scaling up its sales force.  I just listened, and for a moment as he spoke in the parlance of the trade it felt as though I was learning a new language.  It is clear that I stand to grow financially and intellectually from this opportunity, and the learning curve may initially be steep as I get up to speed.

With the clock approaching quitting time I found myself fighting heavy eyelids, an insufficient night’s sleep in anticipation of the unknown, had caught up to me.  I bailed on a planned trip to the grocery store instead making a B line for home to rest my weary eyes.  Over the course of the day I had sorted through dozens of old leads in the database scouring various websites for current information, “data cleansing” as it is called.  For each deal I “influence” there is a generous bonus structure in place and sourcing candidates becomes something of a numbers game  seeking as many “at-bats” as possible to secure a win.  Of course, as I learn the industry and become adept at best practices I can shift gears from “working hard” to “working smart.”  I had been passed over by two other recruiting firms before landing this golden gig.  Bill must have seen something in me that the others had overlooked, and for this I’m grateful.

In common wealth,

SjK

Nature’s first green is gold,

Her hardest hue to hold.
Her early leaf’s a flower;
But only so an hour.
Then leaf subsides to leaf,
So Eden sank to grief,
So dawn goes down to day
Nothing gold can stay. 

Robert Frost
