It’s been so long since I’ve made an entry here in this Daily Log that I barely recognize the website with a revamped look and layout, not to mention we’re more than halfway into 2013 steamrolling toward 2014 with every breath and keystroke.  A steady rain has been falling since early afternoon and I just gulped down a couple slices of pizza from the joint down the road a ways.  The post-summer transition is well under way as the neighborhood is devoid of its seasonal inhabitants, water toys soon to be stowed away and the hummingbirds have begun their annual migration to Central America.  It is a stark contrast to the vibe just last weekend for the unofficial bookend to the season with Labor Day festivities.  I have not been alone here on a weekend since spring.

There have been several developments to report on both a personal and professional level; namely, my new gig in pre-IPO technology recruiting is flourishing with bonus earnings payable next quarter and a romantic relationship that unfurled shortly after my last post in April.  All indications point to spending another winter out here at the lake and I am excited at the prospect of further “solitary refinement” afforded by the relatively remote location.  The college football season is already in its second week with the Oregon Ducks clobbering the Cavaliers of Virginia, and a rivalry better than a century-old this evening as the Michigan Wolverines prepare to host the Fighting Irish of Notre Dame.  I may venture out to see a friend off to California, although I am rather cozy and content to sit tight for the remainder of this cool, damp day.

Tomorrow I will be joined by my parents in celebration of my father’s 68th birthday.  My brother and sister both have tickets to the Bill’s home opener, so I will be the only sibling spending time with the old man on his special day.  The Bills are under new leadership at the highest levels and at the quarterback position with fans eagerly anticipating a return to playoff glory in the near future.  They will host the New England Patriots, who have owned them with 25 wins out of the last 28 games played since 2000; incidentally, the last year I made an effort to record the events and insights of my life in a Daily Log Y2K.  It was my intention back then as is it was for the 2012 endeavor to morph its contents into a publication, hitherto a goal unrealized.  Perhaps I can work in that direction this winter season in support of my purpose to inspire, empower and inform with insight.

In common wealth,

SjK

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

– Robert Frost

