The remnants of a tropical system streaming warm moisture-laden air from the Gulf has collided with a cold front descending from arctic origins producing heavy rains and has the lake blown up with whitecaps crashing ashore scouring the beach clean on this rather overcast Monday.  The cooler temps are in stark contrast to unseasonably mild temperatures over the last week causing folks to batten down the hatches as stormy weather relents to brightness on the horizon.  It is surely a reflection of my energy levels with internal flux, a bit of heaviness as the season shifts to a more introspective mode.  The government is one week into a “shutdown” as partisanship continues to divide political interests and by extension, citizens of our nation blaming and complaining about the same old song and dance.

I was feeling anything but inspired at work today and could have easily opted out for a mental health day, not so much for sadness as an apathy, along with a yearning to go within.  My last call for the day was a poignant interjection and affirmation of my current state of spirit as I reached out to an Oracle rep to see if she was open to exploring career opportunities, and after clarifying she always keeps options open and is awaiting word on an internal promotion, remarked how unhappy I came across on the phone.  I explained that is was rainy and dreary out, rather than confess to a stranger as one professional to another that she nailed it in her assertion.  Funny how a complete stranger can intuit one’s energy level from hundreds of miles away.  It was actually an opportunity to open up the conversation, and I didn’t act upon it as any bona fide sales pro would do.  Instead, I logged off my work station and wrapped up my day.

Tomorrow my mother boards a flight bound for Bogotá Colombia, but not before a several hour layover in Orlando.  I suspect she is uber-anxious in anticipation of the ordeal and the prospect of meeting her Grandson on foreign soil has got to be like nothing else in this life.  My sister appears to be handling the unfamiliar environment much better and if all goes well the courts will have she, her husband and son, Charlie signed off for clearance to vacate the country destined for home in a few weeks.  I’m looking forward to meeting my nephew live and in the flesh after following his escapades on the social network for the past 14 days.

I’ve been giving more thought in contemplation of my life’s vision of late, specifically, how I can most effectively put myself into a position where I can thrive.  After all the chaos of one life chapter coming to an abrupt close at the outset of 2012, things have stabilized and I have transitioned out of survival mode.  I see the next move on the horizon as a key factor in the efficacy of longer term outcomes.  To be sure a spot on the farm remains attractive and in alignment with this vision, though it is likely at least 6 months to 1 year out.  In that interim, I know it is imperative that my choices be closely examined for congruence in mind, body and spirit.

In common wealth,

SjK

“Oh, the places you’ll go! There is fun to be done!
There are points to be scored. There are games to be won.
And the magical things you can do with that ball
will make you the winning-est winner of all.
Fame! You’ll be as famous as famous can be,
with the whole wide world watching you win on TV.

Except when they don’t
Because, sometimes they won’t.

I’m afraid that some times
you’ll play lonely games too.
Games you can’t win
’cause you’ll play against you.”
― Dr. SeussOh, the Places You’ll Go!

