So here we are at an arbitrary though collectively agreed upon transition point known as New Year’s Day 2014.  There are many potent cycles converging from the first new moon in 19 years occurring on January 1st to a more personal 13 year anniversary of a class in self-awareness, responsibility and unconditional love that I began in February 2001 on the Tuscarora Nation.  As I reflect back upon those “times long past” I am in awe at just how much life has been packed into the years with such a diversity of experiences, and with it tremendous expansion in my capacity for love.  As much as it tends to be cliche to make our resolutions for the coming year in the hopes of embarking upon new territory, I genuinely feel poised for an immense growth spurt in the coming days, weeks and months.  It is almost like the “payoff” or ROI for the steadfast dedication I’ve held upon a spiritual path for over half my life now.  I’ve paid my dues and earned my stripes.  I can just feel it in the air, or the ether.

And so today I slept in until 9AM and began my day jotting down personal and professional goals to be achieved over the next 365 days with love and goodness to all concerned.  Last night I enjoyed gathering with some of my family for a lavish dinner replete with lobster, twice-baked potatoes and champagne.  There was much talk at the table around development of new healthy habits to overwrite the default habits that result in our steady deterioration.  As the evening carried on I found myself increasingly anti-social, which is unusual for me, and opted to drive home rather than overnight at my parents’ house.  I sauntered down to the beach shortly before midnight amid a steady lake effect snowfall to set a powerful intention on the icy shores of Lake Erie with arms stretched to the heavens above honoring the four directions and all my relations.  It was the first time I’d celebrated the annual penultimate moment in solitude since perhaps I was a child asleep in my dreams.  In this regard, it was as though I’m reborn.

I get a sense that every area of my life is going to “upgrade” to some degree from my health to my finances to my vocation to my relationships to people with whom I feel strongly aligned in mind, body and spirit.  And it will all come about in direct correlation to the number of people and magnitude by which I am able to inspire, empower and connect through insight.  It is my intention to harness the momentum of energies converging to enjoy the best year ever as I assist others in making it their best one ever.  In closing, I defer to my colleague Mark Twain…

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do.

So throw off the bowlines.

Sail away from the safe harbor.

Catch the trade winds in your sails.

Explore.

Dream.

Discover.

In common wealth,

SjK

 

 

 

 

