So I called off work this morning as I’d anticipated about mid-week to grab some much-needed time for meta-spatial inquiry, or soul searching as it is more commonly known.  I have Pink Floyd streaming online, Echoes, on this overcast winter morning, although temps have moderated to near freezing.  I may strap on the snowshoes later for an expedition out upon the frozen tundra that was once a vast expanse of surface fresh water known as Lake Erie.  In the interim, I am sitting here reflecting upon a lovely evening of conversation, laughter and connection with a good friend over craft brews made from locally sourced hops.  It is a refreshing change of pace from the typically hurried frenzy of the morning rushing off to the office in pursuit of sales pros who are chasing dollars in a contemporary digitized version of the American Dream.  Taking soul inventory can be a bit like going to the doctor, praying for a clean bill of health upon examination of various key diagnostics.

Today marks the annual “Feast of Saint Valentine”, or the more familiar reference as Valentine’s Day replete with flowers and chocolate and whispering of sweet nothings into the ears of a special person with whom we share our mind, body and spirit in an intimate manner.  While conflicting historical accounts of the patron saint’s martyrdom circulate various ecclesiastical circles, the modern day celebration has surely been centered around romantic unions, and a commercial money-grab for retailers eager to capitalize upon emotionally-motivated purchases.

I’ve spent the majority of my adult life single on this holiday, although it was 6 years ago today that I proposed to my now ex-wife, surprising her with a 1.25 carat Princess cut diamond engagement ring.  Yet, the surprise was a bit of an aberration as she’d been insisting upon thrusting forward to the next step just 3 months into dating and I delivered in the most cliche sort of way imaginable.  I played the fool caving to pressure in following the folly of my heart dropping substantial coin and falling prey to the system of usury which ensnares the vast majority who seek the kingdom of Heaven in material items such as houses, cars and a box of chocolates.  Goes to show you just never know which one you’re gonna get.

To be sure that was then and this is now, oh such tranquil thoughts through which we browse.  As I tune into the macrocosm from the microcosm of this energy container known as the body, I feel the collective emotive pulse of the planet, perhaps exacerbated by those who long for companionship, and others under the gun to deliver the goods and remain in good favor with Cupid.  And from an individual standpoint I feel tears pooling up in my eyes with a smile upon my face as I count the many blessings of this often bizarre and circuitous life.  I may not presently be sharing the journey with a partner, or a mate, and yet I know I am whole and complete and never alone in all my relations.  Mitakuye Oyashin!

Breathe…breathe in the air…don’t be afraid to care…all you touch and all you see is all your life will ever be…run rabbit run dig that hole forget the sun…don’t sit down it’s time to dig another one…there is no dark side of the moon, matter of fact it’s all dark…

Strangers passing in the street by chance two separate glances meet…

In common wealth,

SjK

